{ faux potatoes }

Wow, I didn’t realize how far behind I am in posting.

It’s been a whirlwind fall/Christmas/birthday, along with starting a new job in October, etc., etc. I have been trying to get back on track after the holiday season, and unfortunately it’s harder than I thought. I know I’ll get there, and I know it will take time – it’s just frustrating because I want the holiday weight to come off quicker. “Excuses” to eat keep popping up, and I need to be stronger.

I want a body where I can eat an “off” meal here or there without consequence. I want a “normal” body that will stay consistently at one weight with only the slightest fluctuations like so many other people. Unfortunately, I am the complete and utter opposite. I can literally gain 4+ pounds from one “off” meal. Yes… literally. It’s absolutely ridiculous. I suppose my body was screwed up by bad eating for so many years that it all makes sense. It’s just so discouraging.

Enough with the self pity – moving on… I have a couple of recipes I want to start posting over the next few weeks. I will start with an old standby in our house. If you think you don’t like cauliflower, TRY THIS. I do NOT like cauliflower. I don’t enjoy the “cooking” portion of this recipe because of the cauliflower smell, but once it’s all together… so. much. YUM.

img_2914

At Christmas dinner a couple of years ago, I made this recipe for the very first time and it has been a household favorite since the first bite. Now I make it for every holiday, potluck, and was even requested by my daughter in lieu of cake for her birthday last year. I quadruple the original recipe so we have plenty to eat for days (or have leftovers from potlucks), it warms up in the microwave wonderfully (or back in the oven), and fills a 9×13 dish nicely. The only modifications from the original are the amount and type of cheese I use, and the method – I use a hand masher so I don’t dirty up my food processor.

Cauliflower Casserole (Mock Twice Baked Potatoes)

4 pkgs 16-oz. cauliflower (frozen)
16 oz. pkg. sour cream
8 ounces cream cheese (cut up)
4 tablespoon butter
6 cups Colby jack shredded cheese, divided
2 pkgs. bacon, fried and crumbled, divided
salt, to taste
fresh ground pepper, to taste (we use quite a bit)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (if cooking immediately).

Place 1 bag of frozen cauliflower in a 1 1/2-quart casserole. Add 1/2 cup water. Cover and microwave on high for 7 minutes. Stir and cook another 4 minutes. Let stand 2 minutes. Place in a colander to drain and blot (squeeze!) with paper towels to absorb as much moisture as possible. Repeat with the rest of the bags.

Place the cauliflower in a large bowl and mash well – it won’t get completely smooth, which is fine. Add the sour cream, cream cheese, butter, 4 cups of the cheese, 3/4 the bacon, salt and pepper and stir well (taste test for seasoning).

Grease a 9×13 dish (I’ve always used glass or glazed stoneware) and pour in the cauliflower mixture. Top with the remaining crumbled bacon and cheese.

You can bake uncovered 20-30 minutes at 350º or until heated through and lightly browned – however, I typically make this dish the day before any event, so I do not bake until I’m ready to eat. I place the finished casserole in the fridge (before baking), covered with foil, and bake uncovered at 325-350 degrees until warmed through in the center and lightly browned, usually 30-40 mins. If time permits, such as a potluck – in the morning, I leave foil cover on with the oven around 200 and will warm up by lunchtime.

img_2915

This is super delicious, even for those who don’t like cauliflower. At my potlucks, I don’t even tell people it’s cauliflower and are amazed when they find out.

Enjoy!

One thought on “{ faux potatoes }

  1. Nicole Breeding says:

    Love it! Been missing your posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

