{ blondie bars }

Memorial Day weekend is almost upon us, and with all of the family gatherings happening, I thought I would test out another recipe to share at a family reunion we have planned.

This recipe comes from Carolyn at All Day I Dream About Food. (So much truth in that title, am I right?!) I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand, and it came together very quickly. Carolyn’s recipe called for Sukrin Gold, or more Swerve with molasses – so I went with the Swerve/molasses option. I also cut back on the chocolate chips and added PECANS, of course. Baked goods NEED pecans!

Low Carb Blondies | Losing Loads Weight Loss Blog

I tasted the dough before it was cooked (that’s a RULE, right?!) and it had a great flavor, so I already had high hopes. Once they were in the oven for 20 minutes, I was afraid they would never hold together in an actual bar form because they weren’t firm.

I took them out of the oven to cool as we went out for dinner. Once we arrived back home, they were still slightly warm, so I cut into bars and easily picked them up as bars without falling apart!  We all loved the taste, plenty sweet with only a slight cooling effect (which is why I’m cutting back some on the Swerve), but totally worth it for the overall taste and texture. It definitely filled that chocolate chip cookie craving I’ve had lately. I loved the edge pieces the best, so I’m going to cook them a little longer next time to see how that works.

Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Blondies
slightly modified from original
Yield: 16 bars / Serving Size: 1 bar

1/2 cup butter
2 cups almond flour
1/4 cup Swerve Sweetener
1/4 cup Swerve and 2 tsp molasses, mixed well
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar-free chocolate chips (Lily’s Sugar Free Choc Chips – 42g)
1/3 cup pecans, chopped

Place butter in a medium skillet over medium heat. Cook until the butter is melted and and becomes a deep amber, and has a nutty aroma. Remove and let cool.
Preheat oven to 325F and grease a 9×9 inch square pan (an 8×8 is acceptable but your blondies will take longer to cook).
In a large bowl, whisk together almond flour, sweeteners, baking powder, and salt. Stir in egg, browned butter and vanilla extract until well combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
Press dough evenly into prepared ban and bake 15 to 20 minutes, until just set and golden brown. Let cool and cut into squares.

Wendy’s Notes: I cut back on the original amount of chocolate chips, and added 1/3 cup of pecans. I cooked mine in a 9×9 pan for the full 20 minutes. On my next batch I may cut back on the Swerve a bit, as well as cook about 5 minutes longer.

Nutritional Information: Serves 16. Based on my changes (and if my math is correct) Each serving has 174 calories, 16g total fat, 5.5 total carbs, 2.6 fiber, 4g protein; 2.75g NET carbs.

This past week or so hasn’t gone exactly as planned – that’s life, I suppose. I’m still trying to get back into my personal acceptable weight range after hitting my low point for goal. I suppose I celebrated a little too much after I hit that low point. 😉 It is coming back off, it’s just taking it’s sweet time doing so.

With a few events around Memorial Day weekend, I really wanted to have something like this available to keep me on track, since I was totally ready to enjoy myself that day (by eating the bad-for-me “good” stuff). But, I don’t think I’m ready for that yet. I need to keep the reins a bit tighter, I guess. It seems my body wants to either gain or lose – it’s not ready to maintain yet.

This is all new to me, so I’m learning as I go. My body is still trying to get used to this place (and so is my mind), and I’m still trying to teach it how to stay there. As I told my husband last week – I thought maintenance would be much easier. Boy, was I WRONG.

Even after almost 2 and a half years, I still have that little voice in my head saying “a little of this won’t hurt”… “one off meal won’t hurt” … “just this once.” And when I do, the number on the scale takes a beating. There’s no coasting along here. It may take a while for me to figure all this out, I just hope it’s sooner rather than later.

 

3 thoughts on “{ blondie bars }

  1. Rice N Dine says:

    That looks so yummy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

