{ direction }

Well into two years of this journey, I am still learning so much – so much about diet and nutrition, and so much about MYSELF.

I randomly ran across this saying today and it really hit home:

direction

This past Saturday, I hit a new low – only 2.5 pounds from goal… then I GAINED for three days straight (when eating everything right). It’s so hard seeing the number on the scale move up and away from that finish line.

I was complaining to my husband about it (no surprise there), and he made a very interesting observation. “Which is really a failure? The one who goes back to the old lifestyle — or the one who keeps on a path of healthy living?” His birthday was earlier this week, and he wanted to go out to a place that’s NOT low carb friendly for me (and one of my most favorite places). So, of course, I was stressing out about it after the previous gains in the week, and he continued, “the fact that it’s on your mind – you have it before you – you keep the resistance there… this speaks volumes.”

Direction. MY Direction.

After that discussion – and a great meal (yum!) – I decided I needed to quit putting added stress in my life. Something needed to change. I am a self-admitted scale addict — literally weighing MULTIPLE times a day. I am going back to weighing in only on Saturdays. I am already feeling less stressed without the scale looming over me every morning. I was also in a race to finish. Why the rush? Who was I racing?? No one. Just me. Does it really matter what the scale says? Shouldn’t *healthy* be the important thing?

IMG_1681

This entire week gave me a whole new perspective. I know the direction I’m going, and one higher carb meal isn’t going to deter that. I’ve done all of this before, so I know what to do and NOT to do.

It’s all about the right direction.

 

 

10 thoughts on “{ direction }

  1. Amy Herrick says:

    I am super proud of you for not giving up. I rarely weigh weekly anymore, it led to severe depression. I try to stick to once a month. Better than that, if my clothes fit, I don’t weigh at all. You have such a supportive husband. I don’t think Norman cares much for me skinny, too may side remarks that alarm me. At least we are married forever and love each other passionately. I will tell you this, it took me FOUR months to get all the Christmas weight off. I went commando on tamales. I kept telling myself that since I was already in a size 4, that a few would not hurt. Then a dozen more, then??? I blush to remember. The sleeve is just a tool and barely good for 60 pounds. THIS is my favorite quote about weight loss:

    It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll.
    I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wendy says:

      I truly have the most supportive husband. I am the one always putting myself down – he does all the ‘heavy’ lifting (of my spirits). 😉 Only sweet comments and telling me how amazing I look, even though I see none of that in the mirror. Thank you so much for your support and your comments!

      Like

    • Betty says:

      Some men get very insecure when we lose weight. My ex was that way. In a way I can understand it, because we go change after losing a lot of weight. We become more confident and outgoing and for some they don’t know how to take that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wendy says:

        Personally, I still don’t feel confident and definitely not outgoing, and thankfully, he doesn’t feel insecure about my changes. The support of my husband is HUGE in my life. I couldn’t have done it without him by my side.

        Like

  2. Mbutner says:

    This was such an amazing blog post! I feel like I was reading about myself. I’m no where near where you are as far as goal. I still have at least 50 to go but have lost 33 lbs. I love this post because it’s just exactly what went on with me and it just speaks volumes to me!! Thank you so much for being so inspirational!! You don’t even realize it but this was just huge for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wendy says:

      Thank you so much – I’m so glad it spoke to you. Even though we are all in different places in our journeys, we all experience so much of the same problems / anxieties / issues. Congrats on your weight loss – looks like you are going in the right direction 😉 Keep up the great work!

      Like

  3. Rachel says:

    Thank you so much, i so needed to hear this and reflect on the stress i am putting on myself. I have come so far, and have such a long way to go. Your journey is such an inspiration, thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • Wendy says:

      Thank you so much for you comment. Stress is a horrible thing – even worse when we put it on ourselves (I’m the worst about that!!) – these last few weeks have been pretty great not worrying about that stupid scale every single morning 🙂 Keep up the great work – you’ll get there!

      Like

  4. Linda christen says:

    Hiw many carbs per day r u consuming…i been on it since feb 2016…i weighed in at 228
    Now im 211…i have no problem on this journey. But the weight is slowly comming off. I weigh in on monday morning only and somtimes i stay the same weight in one week sometimes i feel i failed but i didnt fail cuz im eating the same way i did when i started . .im eating thirty carbs a day. Im not giving up yet ..i hada ralk with the lord befor i started this journey and ask him to give me all the selfasteam…i need to do this . This is the only diet i ever stayed on in my life time.im very faithful now that the lord is beside me giving me the strenght that i really need and the wisdom to carry on. So can you please tell me is it normal to be on a stand still for days like that are im i eating to many carbs at 30…and is it normal for my weught to go up and down
    Please give me some info on what to do. I will never give up

    Like

    • Wendy says:

      That is COMPLETELY normal! Your body has to stand still a while sometimes while it catches up. Some people stall for MONTHS at a time, also completely normal. Many people stay less than 20 carbs a day. Personally, my average is closer to 3-5 a day – very, very low. I hit my goal target weight this morning, so I will start increasing my carbs slowly during maintenance. So glad to hear you will never give up – that is, 100%, the BEST way to see this lifestyle. The more consistent you are, the better your results! Keep up the good work, even slow losing is better than gaining! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

