{ addict }

I am an addict.

A FOOD addict.

After following a low carb lifestyle for over two years, I still have a strong addiction to food. This past week was even harder because for 3 days or so, I was HUNGRY. VERY hungry. I would eat my usual meal, and a couple of hours later, I felt like I could eat another full meal (or more). It was like there was a hole in my stomach I couldn’t fill. It was awful. I wanted to eat anything and everything. On top of that, still trying to lose that pesky holiday weight really messes with my mind, which makes me want to eat it ALL. Low carb helped me get through it without eating off plan, but it is still a serious battle.

Food Addiction and Low Carb | Losing Loads Weight Loss Blog

Addiction is an interesting thing. I’ve heard, “the best way to not get addicted to something is never start.” As an addict, that statement rattles me to my core. I must face my addiction at LEAST 3 times a day, every single day, for my entire life. There’s no walking away, no stopping, and most certainly “never starting.”

After all, it’s food. It’s sustenance. And it’s addicting.

My daily motto is “don’t give up what you want most for what you want now.” My scale has barely moved this week. I want to eat tacos, chips with queso, and all those carb filled sweets shared on Facebook and Pinterest. I want them SO INCREDIBLY BAD.

BUT… I want to hit goal. I want that more than anyone can possibly imagine.

As much as I’ve lost and told how much I’ve accomplished, I don’t feel like I’ve accomplished anything until I cross that finish line. I know, it’s strange to say that. But I want to say that I actually FINISHED something… hit that goal and conquered it.

 

 

3 thoughts on “{ addict }

  1. Nicole Breeding says:

    Yes GIRL! I am with you 100%.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have the exact same addiction. I scoffed at seeing a psychological counselor before my surgery. I can’t tell you what a nightmate the last 4 years have been. I’m a stess eater and we raised from birth to eat for comfort. I constantly saboutaged my sleeve until I almost had a break down.

    It hasn’t gotten any easier. The sleeve is just a tool. My hunger is my worst enemy. No matter how carefully I plan my meals and stock my refrigerator, I can always find an excuse to cheat. After 14 months at goal weight, I bombed at Christmas and gained over ten pounds. I cringe getting on the scale. I don’t want to be skinny. I just want to be healthy and escape the beast in my head that drives me to eat eat eat eat.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pam inch says:

    Me too Wendy. I’m an addict. Struggle everyday. You do inspire me, so thank you for that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

