{ chicken addict }

Have I mentioned I’m addicted to chicken? I’m sure I have a few hundred times by now.

We ran out of my usual chicken breast stash the other day – I know, the HORROR! So, I raided my freezer to see what I had hiding in there. Low and behold I found 2 packages of chicken drumsticks, so I pulled them out and thawed for dinner last night. Since I don’t normally cook dark meat (I like it, I just like white meat more), I decided to do something a little different.

I’ve made this recipe in the past with chicken tenders, wings, etc. It’s extremely easy, always a hit, plus I had all the ingredients… well, sort of. I only had about 1 cup of parmesan, so I halved the recipe. I also only had oregano, so instead of the parsley and oregano, I just used Italian seasoning, which I ALWAYS have. Close enough, right?? The half recipe coated 11 chicken drumsticks, and some of them were pretty large.

They turned out delicious and juicy, plus more leftover for tonight!

IMG_0710

Addictive (“Heroin”) Chicken

2 pounds (or more) chicken pieces (legs, breasts, wings, thighs)
2 cups grated parmesan cheese
3 tablespoons dried parsley
2 tablespoons dried oregano leaves
3 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon pepper
2⁄3 cup melted butter

Preheat the oven to 375°F.
Combine the cheese and the seasonings. Line a shallow baking pan with foil (makes for MUCH easier clean up) and place a cooling rack inside the pan. This keeps the pieces off the foil for better cooking and more of the coating stick to the chicken.
Melt the butter in a shallow bowl or pan.
Dip each piece of chicken into the butter, and then into the seasoned cheese, coating well.
Arrange the chicken on the rack. Bake for 30-50 minutes at 375°F – will vary on type of chicken pieces (the drumsticks cooked about 50 mins in my oven). Cook until internal temp is 180°F.

I don’t have the exact nutritional value for these since the fat grams and calories will vary depending on the pieces of chicken used (and if those pieces have skin).

These are very low carb, roughly less than 1 carb per drumstick.

4 thoughts on “{ chicken addict }

  1. These sound soooo good- I think I’ll make a skinless version!

    Like

  2. joyce vought says:

    I’ll be making this! Thanks for the great tip of using the cooling rack.

    Like

Leave a Reply

