{ ready, set, go }

Getting started on low carb.

It’s been so long, it’s hard to remember how it all started – especially since it was ‘technically’ over 10 years ago when my first journey began. However, so many people want to start and just don’t know how.

Get Started Losing Weight with Low Carb Lifestyle | Losing Loads Blog

The first thing is to have a heart-to-heart with yourself. How bad do you want this? Are you focused? Determined? Do you have your family / friends / coworkers around to support you? When I first started, something just *clicked* this time. This was it. No more excuses. My mind was made up. Low carb was my lifestyle from then on. PERIOD.

Next up, research low carb food lists. There’s SO much information out there on the internet, in books, articles, etc. The Diet Doctor has a good site on Low Carb High Fat with accepted food as well as Atkins website. There’s many other sites available as well.

After knowing what you need to eat – PURGE. Get that junk food and anything that may distract you out of the pantry!

When you’re all set – GO for it! Get an app to track your food. Personally, I use the My Fitness Pal app (phone and desktop), however when I first started in December of 2013, I used the Atkins app to track food. And track every single thing you put in your mouth to keep a true track of all the carbs. Keep carbs under 20g per day, and don’t restrict those fats.

Meats like chicken, beef, fish, and shrimp, eggs, hard cheeses, butter, coconut oil, avocado, and veggies like lettuce, spinach, broccoli, green beans, cauliflower are all acceptable (plus many more) and I’ve eaten them all. When I first started, out of convenience, I would drink an Atkins shake or have an Atkins for breakfast everyday – grab and go. Now, I try to avoid all processed foods (I even limit lunchmeats and bacon! The horror!) – I will still have some of those if necessary, if that’s all that’s available, but I try to not make it a habit.

Most importantly, stick to it, and be patient. I honestly think the best thing you can do is be consistent. Not cheating “here and there,” no “just this once” bites or anything. The longer you can stay strictly low carb, the better. Less straying means less cravings, which means less starting completely over (like I had to do).

It DOES work.

What are some of the biggest low carb questions on your mind?

Leave a Reply

