{ i scream, you scream }

No tricks to make you scream here. Halloween is over, and I am aware it’s November.

Even though I wear a jacket almost every time I leave the house (and it has not even turned really “cold” yet), I got a new toy! I am the proud new owner of a Cuisinart ICE-100 Compressor Ice Cream and Gelato Maker, so I *HAD* to test it out. Since ice cream is one of the easiest treats to make low carb, and so simple to make, I couldn’t wait until spring. This machine uses a compressor inside to freeze the ice cream, instead of using the freezer bowls – so I am able to make double batches back-to-back, without waiting to re-freeze the bowl overnight. Best thing ever!

The first recipe I made was for a potluck luncheon at work. I saw the original recipe on Food Network – it’s Ree Drummond’s Cinnamon Ice Cream. It looked amazing, I LOVE cinnamon, and I just knew I could make it low carb – however, I’m not a fan of making a custard base for ice cream. Since I use all heavy cream, my base is so rich already, I did not feel like it needed eggs/custard. Plus – this recipe is SO MUCH EASIER.

Low Carb Cinnamon Ice Cream | Losing Loads Weight Loss Blog

Low Carb Cinnamon Ice Cream

2 cups heavy whipping cream, liquid
1/2 can (about 7 oz.) organic, full fat, unsweetened coconut milk
1/2 cup Xylitol
1/4 cup Swerve (or erythritol)
1/2 tsp (heaping) cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste (or regular vanilla)

Mix the xylitol, Swerve, and cinnamon until well incorporated. Add the remaining ingredients. Place in ice cream maker, using manufacturers instructions and churn until thickened. Place in freezer to firm. Enjoy!

Cinnamon Ice cream nutritional information: 10 servings, 1/2 cup serving – 225 calories; 21g fat; 2g carbs; 0g fiber; 12g sugar alcohols; 2 net carbs.

I made this second recipe because toffee is one of my all time favorite ice cream add ins. And since the base is so easy, plus Russell Stover already makes the toffee candies sugar free, it’s one of the simplest low carb ice creams to make. For this version, I used an entire package of Russell Stover sugar free toffee candies, which had 6 in the bag. I honestly think it could use a bit more toffee in the recipe – maybe 3-4 more pieces (chopped), but that will change the nutritional information below a little bit.

Low Carb Toffee Ice Cream | Losing Loads Weight Loss Blog

Low Carb Toffee Ice Cream

2 cups heavy whipping cream, liquid
1/2 can (about 7 oz.) organic, full fat, unsweetened coconut milk
1/2 cup Xylitol
1/4 cup Swerve (or erythritol)
6 squares Russell Stover Sugar Free Toffee candies, chopped

Mix all ingredients except toffee. Place in ice cream maker, using manufacturers instructions and churn until almost thickened. Add chopped toffee pieces around the last 5 minutes of churning to incorporate. Place in freezer to firm. Enjoy!

Toffee Ice cream nutritional information: 10 servings, 1/2 cup serving – 261 calories; 24g fat; 1.8g carbs; 0g fiber; 12g sugar alcohols; 1.8 net carbs.

So, don’t scream over sugary ice cream! With the base ice cream recipe (first 4 ingredients), you can add any low carb ingredient to create your own ice cream – the sky is the limit! Low carb ice cream is simple to make, and you’ll scream for more!

2 thoughts on “{ i scream, you scream }

  1. Mbutner says:

    Oh my gosh these look yummy! I’m going to try them! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

