{ summer treat }

It’s September, and even through summer is over, we are still having weather in the mid 90s here. During these times, it’s nice to have a low carb cold treat from time to time. I like these occasional low carb “sweets” – or “cheats” as I call them. I don’t eat them often, which is why I call them a “cheat,” however something like this is much better than eating the full sugar version. This is a recipe I made myself – most ice cream recipes online call for egg yolks, but this is much quicker and easier, and without all the leftover egg whites. Since it is completely made of heavy cream and full fat coconut milk, it’s very rich, so it doesn’t take much to be satisfied, which is a nice bonus. I have also made this ice cream with the same “base” (minus the last 3 ingredients) and added chopped up strawberries for a delicious low carb strawberry ice cream. I love them both, but I love the crunch in this version, since I don’t get many crunchy foods following low carb.

Low carb Almond Joy Ice Cream  |  Losing Loads

Low Carb “Almond Joy” Ice Cream (Coconut, Chocolate & Almond)

1/2 can (~7 oz) organic full fat, unsweetened coconut milk
1/4 cup Swerve
1/2 cup Xylitol
2 cups heavy cream
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut
1/2 bar (5 squares) dark chocolate bar (used Lindt 90% dark), chopped
1/2 cup chopped almonds

Mix first three ingredients, giving sweeteners some time to dissolve. Stir in heavy cream and coconut. Pour into prepped ice cream maker and churn until almost fully thickened (or it gets close to the top, like mine 😉 ). Blend in chocolate and almonds and continue to churn – in my machine the ice cream starts to go over the top rim, and that is when I remove and put into an air tight container and put in freezer for ice cream to completely firm up. If you have a larger capacity ice cream maker, you could probably leave it in longer to churn/firm before placing in the freezer. Enjoy!

1/2 cup serving (it’s rich, so it doesn’t take much):  About 4 net carbs

2 thoughts on “{ summer treat }

  1. Linda says:

    Where can I find Xylitol???

    Like

Leave a Reply

