{ struggles }

The struggles are real.

The struggles are daily.

Some struggles get easier with time, and some don’t. I’ve learned to deal with some, and others bother me on an almost daily basis. Let’s face it – I’m a worrier. I always have been. This doesn’t help my situation.

I’ve talked about this before. Bad days happen. Even after losing over 200 pounds and being so close to that final goal (whatever it may be) … I still get depressed. I will feel like I haven’t gotten anywhere. Then I worry about it. “Will the weight come back?  What if ‘this’ happens?  What if ‘that’ doesn’t happen?  What am I going to do when….?”

These are the days I have to go back to my many, many ‘selfies’ I’ve taken over the last year and a half. I have to force myself to look and remember how far I’ve come. Scales and mirrors can be your best friend or worst enemy. But pictures – especially side by side – tell a story.
My continuing story.

Struggles  |  Losing Loads

After living almost my entire life, I recently had to learn how to smile. It feels forced to me, but looks natural – that’s another one of the “oddities” of this journey.

I never would have imagined I would take so many pictures of myself, or ask my family to take pictures of me. But I am really glad I did. Documenting this journey with photos is one of the best things I accidentally did. I *almost* didn’t have a before picture, and now I’ve run across a few more, which makes me happy. And cringe.

But I needed them today.

Even the ones that make me cringe.

2 thoughts on “{ struggles }

  1. Joyce Vought says:

    Thanks for sharing your story! You are a true inspiration to me and you are a beautiful person from the inside / out. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

